top of page

Parlez Vous Crochet: Ooh La La La

Can you provide me with a description of your business? Parlez Vous Crochet is a collection of chic & sexy crochet accessories for today's man and woman.

Why are you in business? I love working for myself!

Why are you in this type of business? I am feeding my creative soul. I love designing, creating crochet pieces, and seeing the finished product.

What is your background? Education? Work Experience? I graduated from Downtown Business Magnet High School with credentials in accounting and secretarial skills. I began working in various fields in the music & banking industry but found I didn't like it. So I put myself through Massage Therapy school opened a business called Intuitive Touch Massage and ran my own business for 15 years.

How long have you been in business? I was a massage therapist for 15 years and semi retired in December 2014. In January 2015 I went full time into my crochet business and it has been very successful.

What type of business form do you have, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation? Sole proprietorship.

What are the advantages of this form of business ownership? You are your own boss!

How did you get the background and skills necessary to run this type of business? My great aunt taught me how to crochet when I was 6 years old. When she passed a few years ago I acquired her crochet hooks, went to youtube and began making basic things like hats with flowers and now it has flourished to earrings,necklaces, swim suit cover ups and even men's ties.

How do the social, economic, environmental, technological, legal and political environments impact your business? More people are becoming aware of supporting and recognizing small businesses and that is making a huge impact on how consumers spend their money.

Do you know who your competitors are? I feel like no one is my competitor. There is room for all artisans. The world is so big and there is plenty of room for all of us!

Where do you see your business in the next year? I want my items in boutiques. I want to have fashion shows and possibly even department stores.

How has technology, such as computers and the internet, impacted on how you conduct business? Social media has played a HUGE factor in how my business is ran. Every follower is a potential customer and this is primarily how I get business.

Whom do you seek advice from for your business? There are many online forums that I look to for advice, but my biggest teacher is experience. Since I ran a massage therapy business I gained experience through trial and error. I've brought that experience over into this business along with confidence.

What do you do with your profits? Buy more yarn!! Look for ways to better my brand

Do you have employees? Sometime I use contractors to carry out certain projects.

Why do your customers select you over your competitors? I think the way you present your items especially the way your photos look on social media. I try to present them as you would see an item in a magazine to make it appealing to the masses. That is very important

What are the biggest issues for running this business? You can not be everything to everyone. And you must find your niche. If making baby blankets is not it then don't do it. Stick to what you like then u are not overwhelmed and then burn out because you are doing too much or designing things you hate

As a black business owner do you feel that you face a different set of challenges? No because it's about presentation. If you are professional and your product looks great you can move mountains.

What do you believe the biggest challenge is for black business owners? Settling for less and not using or researching what tools works best to push their brand.

What advice do you have for other black business owners or future business owners?Presentation is everything!!! Don't settle for mediocre when it comes to your brand. It's yours and its your baby. Love it and coddle it like so. Do your research! Be unique and be different!

Is there anything else you would like us to know? I also teach crochet classes at senior centers in the Los Angeles Area.

Facebook and Instagram: Parkez Vous Crochet


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page