top of page

In My Skin

In my skin…

In my skin everyday can be high noon

And with the sway of a breeze, I can

feel my parents’ relatives blood on the

leaves

Blood on the leaves climbing trees I’m

closer to my roots when most don’t

know it. New Year, new day but I can

feel a drop of blood from the leaves,

replace my tie with a rope and tell my

children’s children that there’s no

hope

Even though your family pain and

blood built this country faster than the

speed of light

There is truly no hope..Down to the

bottom of the bucket because of

slavery free labor mentally trapped

blacks are all crabs in a bucket.. There

is no hope.. Only a tightrope blood on

the leaves and strange fruit. The

strange fruit is always bruised never

ripened when they got chose. But one

thing kept us alive… Wading in the

water musically and spiritual cleaning

my soul...will we reign again? We

influence the world but nobody wants

to bare our black skin. “Everybody

wanna be a nigga but nobody wanna

be a nigga” black excellence covered

with white out, taught that we ain’t

shit… We ain’t shit then why we living

in America for?

And Fox News calling niggas thugs it’s

easier to justify killing an unarmed

teen that way. Days like this I feel no

hope, sometimes I want dope……

Odds always stacked against us and

people trying to act naive to reality

don’t help.

In my skin everyday is high noon

In my skin black excellence is white

washed in Hollywood

In my skin I’m shocked we haven’t

burnt this bitch down

In my skin immigrants try to hate us to

feel white too

In my skin I know that I am a king

In my skin

Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr: @KieferMFJones


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page