top of page

Black Is Beautiful

I am a teacher and freelance artist. I work for a non-profit organization called Hip-Hop4Life that focuses on youth empowerment in inner city schools around New York. I'm a first generation American; both my parents are from Nigeria, and I used to visit all the time. I am influenced by both cultures; American and Nigerian. Movement and energy are elements I try to express and convey in my work. I am a fan of Surrealism and the idea of adding or juxtaposing a little "magic" to seemingly everyday actions. In our minds we imagine the world more fantastically, and its that child-like wonder and excitement about normal things that is important to me. In many ways I feel that the job of any kind of artist is to help people experience thoughts and emotions that they do not feel everyday, but want to.

Website: www.emuchenwaigwe.com

Instagram: @EmucheNwaigwe

New York


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page